2.8 C
New York

Brexit news: Briton wrongly ‘denied’ by leading EU airline over post-Brexit passport rules | Travel News | Travel


Because the UK has left the EU, the bloc has instated the rule that a British passport should be issued lower than 10 years prior to the date of entry to an EU country and should be valid for not less than three months before the date of return.

But a number one European airline has reportedly turned away a British passenger despite his passport still fulfilling the post-Brexit requirements.

KLM Royal Dutch Airlines is claimed to have turned away Robert Banks in Newcastle where he tried to board a plane for Amsterdam for a vital conference.

Mr Banks, who spoke to the Independent together with his story, said his passport was issued on August 8, 2022, and has an expiration date of April 8, 2023.

He attempted to travel on July 22, however the airline rejected his request despite his passport fulfilling the post-Brexit requirement, Mr Banks claimed.

In accordance with the principles, Mr Banks must have been capable of travel until August 7, 2022, so long as his return was scheduled for not less than three months before April 8, 2023.

The passenger reportedly applied for compensation as he paid £3000 for flights and a hotel for himself and his wife.

He said: “Our experience on my being denied boarding can only be described as devastating, especially as we were sure, having checked and double-checked the necessities, that my passport was valid.”

But when asked concerning the decision, KLM said that the shopper was not allowed to board because he didn’t “fulfil the essential entry requirements”.

It comes as a travel fee that’s to be imposed on British passport holders visiting the European Union was pushed back until 2023, last summer.

The unique date for countries within the Schengen Area to begin charging a fee for visitors was originally September 2022. Countries which are a part of the Schengen Area have abolished passport controls between one another effectively allowing borderless travel between signatory countries.

Nearly all of EU countries are a part of the Schengen Area although the Republic of Ireland is a notable exception.

Romania, Bulgaria, Croatia, and Cyprus should not within the Schengen area but plan to affix in the longer term.

There are also 4 non -EU countries which are a part of Schengen: Iceland, Switzerland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

READ MORE: Putin allies erupt over missile attack cost

The European Travel Information and Authorisation System (ETIAS) won’t just apply to British travellers, but is being introduced to all visitors from 62 other countries that should not within the EU or Schengen area but don’t need a visa to enter.

It’s being designed in an analogous solution to the Electronic System for Travel Authorization (ESTA) scheme in the US where travellers who qualify for visa waiver status should apply for authorisation to travel.

ETIAS is being justified on the premise that it’s a way of tackling potential migration issues and criminality.

In accordance with the EU’s border control information, British travellers will need ETIAS authorisation for brief visits.

Get the latest Sports Updates (Soccer, NBA, NFL, Hockey, Racing, etc.) and Breaking News From the United States, United Kingdom, and all around the world.

Related articles


Recent articles