13.5 C
New York

Delegation of cabinet ministers to inform Boris Johnson to resign as prime minister


A delegation of cabinet ministers including the newly appointed chancellor Nadhim Zahawi is preparing to inform Boris Johnson to resign from No 10 after mass resignations from the ministerial ranks.

The move could represent a fatal blow to Mr Johnson’s embattled premiership with MPs from across all wings of the Conservative party also publicly declaring the prime minister not has their confidence.

Within the wake of the resignations of chancellor Rishi Sunak and the health secretary Sajid Javid, who urged the cupboard to act on Wednesday, the prime minister has haemorrhaged support across the Tory ranks.

A government source told The Independent the delegation of ministers includes Grant Shapps, the transport secretary, Chris Heaton Harris, the chief whip, and Mr Zahawi, the brand new chancellor, and the Welsh secretary Simon Hart.

International trade secretary Anne-Marie Trevelyan has also been seen arriving at Downing Street while long-standing cabinet ally Brandon Lewis now believes Mr Johnson’s position is “untenable”.

Michael Gove, the levelling up secretary, told the prime minister to resign during a non-public meeting earlier on Wednesday, but has remained in post.

Mr Johnson, who was appearing on the Commons Liaison Committee because the news emerged, was told here was a delegation of cabinet ministers waiting for him at No 10 to inform him to quit by the Labour MP Darren Jones.

However the prime minister, who has defied calls to resign, repeated the road that he was “not going to get right into a running commentary on political events”.

Get the latest Sports Updates (Soccer, NBA, NFL, Hockey, Racing, etc.) and Breaking News From the United States, United Kingdom, and all around the world.

Related articles


Recent articles