3.8 C
New York

Got an iPhone? Don’t wait one other second to update critical privacy settings

Published:

Tips on how to update critical privacy settings on iPhone

Apple’s got a recent helpful feature called ‘Safety Check’ that’ll guide you thru what you have shared, with whom and methods to revoke access.  If you happen to ever felt like someone was tracking you, be sure you review these settings. 

Our iPhone gives us all of the convenience we could possibly need, right?  It gives us map access once we’re lost, web access when we wish more information and even social media access once we’re bored. 

What it’s possible you’ll not realize is how much information you have been sharing with others that you will have forgotten about.  Apple’s got a recent helpful feature called Safety Check that’ll guide you thru what you have shared and with whom and methods to revoke access.  If you happen to ever felt like someone was tracking you, be sure you review these settings. 

What’s Safety Check? 

If you happen to recently updated your iPhone to the most recent iOS 16 software, you may notice the brand new Safety Check feature that got here with the update. Safety Check was created by Apple for users who feel that their personal safety is in danger whether it’s a case of stalking or harassment.  

Kurt “CyberGuy” Knutsson comparing iPhones on “Fox and Friends” Sept. 7, 2022.
(Fox News)

When Safety Check is enabled, it permits you to select with whome you might be sharing information. It also restricts messages and FaceTime to an iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes an Apple ID password and more. 

HOW TO FLIP YOUR CAMERA AND ZOOM IN USING FACETIME

When Safety Check is enabled, it allows you to choose who you are sharing information with, restricts messages and FaceTime to an iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes the Apple ID password and more. 

When Safety Check is enabled, it permits you to select who you might be sharing information with, restricts messages and FaceTime to an iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes the Apple ID password and more. 
(CyberGuy.com)

Where can I find Safety Check on my iPhone? 

  • Go to your Settings app
  • Scroll down and choose Privacy & Security
  • Scroll down and choose Safety Check
  • What apps use Safety Check when it’s enabled?

The next apps will stop sharing information with people whom you could have restricted once Safety Check is enabled: 

  • Health
  • Home
  • Shared Calendars
  • Shared Location using Find My
  • Shared Notes
  • Shared Photos (including Shared Library and Shared Albums)
  • When enabled, what information stops being shared with Safety Check?
  • When Safety Check is enabled, it should remove any data gathered by the next apps, networks, and features:
  • Bluetooth
  • Calendars
  • Camera
  • Contacts
  • Files and Folders
  • Health
  • Local Network
  • Location Services
  • Media and Apple Music
  • Microphone
  • Motion & Fitness
  • Photos
  • Reminders
  • Research
  • XSpeech Recognition

HOW TO SEND SPAM CALLS DIRECTLY TO VOICEMAIL ON YOUR PHONE

What features can be found in Safety Check? 

Safety Check comes with three essential features. 

1. Emergency Reset 

The primary feature to check out inside Safety Check is Emergency Reset. This is offered for anyone who wants to right away reset access for all people and apps, in addition to review and reset all settings associated together with your Apple ID. 

  • Your location will now not be shared in Find My
  • Your privacy permissions for all apps might be reset
  • Messages and FaceTime might be restricted to your iPhone

The first feature to take a look at within Safety Check is Emergency Reset. This is available for anyone who wants to immediately reset access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with an Apple ID.

The primary feature to check out inside Safety Check is Emergency Reset. This is offered for anyone who wants to right away reset access for all people and apps, in addition to review and reset all settings related to an Apple ID.
(CyberGuy.com)

CLICK TO GET KURT’S CYBERGUY NEWSLETTER WITH QUICK TIPS, TECH REVIEWS, SECURITY ALERTS AND EASY HOW-TO’S TO MAKE YOU SMARTER 

2. Manage Sharing & Access 

If you happen to only need to restrict sharing with certain people, you’ll be able to select Manage Sharing & Access. This can assist you to customize which individuals and apps can access your information. 

This will allow you to customize which people and apps can access your information. 

This can assist you to customize which individuals and apps can access your information. 
(CyberGuy.com)

3. Quick Exit 

Finally, in case you might want to quickly conceal the data that you simply’re establishing inside your Safety Check app, all you could have to do is tap the Quick Exit button, and it should save any changes you have made and immediately bring you back to the Safety Check homepage.  Nobody will have the option to access what changes you have made within the meantime. 

With your Safety Check app, all you have to do is tap the Quick Exit button, and it will save any changes you've made and immediately bring you back to the Safety Check homepage.  No one will be able to access what changes you've made in the meantime. 

Along with your Safety Check app, all you could have to do is tap the Quick Exit button, and it should save any changes you have made and immediately bring you back to the Safety Check homepage.  Nobody will have the option to access what changes you have made within the meantime. 
(CyberGuy.com)

CLICK HERE TO GET THE FOX NEWS APP

When you click on Manage Sharing & Access, it should take you to lists of your contacts, apps and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.). You’ll then be allowed to select and select who and what you desire to share your information with.  All of your actions might be saved, and you’ll be able to all the time return into Safety Check in a while and alter your work. 

Quick suggestions and tools on your iPhone will be found by searching ‘iPhone’ at CyberGuy.com. 

Copyright 2023 CyberGuy.com. All rights reserved. CyberGuy.com articles and content may contain affiliate links that earn a commission when purchases are made.

Kurt “CyberGuy” Knutsson is an award-winning tech journalist who has a deep love of technology, gear and gadgets that make life higher together with his contributions for Fox News & FOX Business starting mornings on “FOX & Friends.” Got a tech query? Get Kurt’s CyberGuy Newsletter, share your voice, a story idea or comment at CyberGuy.com.

sportinbits@gmail.com
sportinbits@gmail.comhttps://sportinbits.com
Get the latest Sports Updates (Soccer, NBA, NFL, Hockey, Racing, etc.) and Breaking News From the United States, United Kingdom, and all around the world.

Related articles

spot_img

Recent articles

spot_img