13.9 C
New York

Jan. 6 Committee Subpoenas Kevin McCarthy, Other Republicans


WASHINGTON ― The bipartisan House committee investigating the Jan. 6, 2021, Capitol riot has taken the unprecedented step of issuing subpoenas for five GOP lawmakers, including House Republican leader Kevin McCarthy (Calif.).

The opposite lawmakers are Reps. Scott Perry (Pa.), Jim Jordan (Ohio), Andy Biggs (Ariz.) and Mo Brooks (Ala.).

The committee had asked the five members to look voluntarily before the panel to reply questions on their knowledge of and involvement with former President Donald Trump’s try to overturn his 2020 election loss on the day Congress was set to certify the outcomes.

“Regrettably, the individuals receiving subpoenas today have refused and we’re forced to take this step to assist make sure the committee uncovers facts concerning January sixth,” committee Chair Bennie Thompson, a Mississippi Democrat, wrote in an announcement. “We urge our colleagues to comply with the law, do their patriotic duty, and cooperate with our investigation as lots of of other witnesses have done.”

Get the latest Sports Updates (Soccer, NBA, NFL, Hockey, Racing, etc.) and Breaking News From the United States, United Kingdom, and all around the world.

Related articles


Recent articles